Caveat emptor: beware of contractors who do not honor their quotations

Oil Equipment Mfg 2x1-1/2 Vert Alarm/gauge My heating oil supplier refused to supply us with any heating oil last week because the fuel tank vent whistle indicating when the tank was filled was not working:  that is, it was not whistling when the tank was being filled, the whistling sound stopping when it was completely filled.  He referred me to Domenico Miele of Miele Mechanical Services L.L.C., located in Kensington, Connecticut, to repair the whistle on my oil tank, adding that his pricing was reasonable.

So on Saturday I called Mr. Miele and asked him how much it would cost to replace the fuel tank vent whistle on my oil tank.  He assured me that the maximum cost would be $150.  Taking him at his word, assuming him to be an honest and honorable person and businessman, I engaged him to replace the whistle.

When his service man arrived, he informed me that he had brought the wrong whistle with him since our oil tank whistle required a combination whistle and fuel gauge.  A combination whistle and fuel gauge is not uncommon.  In fact, in every home in which I lived, every oil tank had a whistle and fuel gauge.  Virtually all homeowners have a fuel gauge in order for them to determine if they need oil.

When the service man returned within 20 minutes with the combination whistle and fuel gauge, he installed it within 15 minutes time, and then presented me with a bill for $227.88, not $150.00 as quoted as the maximum cost, explaining that the difference in cost was due to the difference in price of the whistle/gauge as opposed to that of just a whistle.

Conducting a Google search on the internet, I found an advertised price of $31 for the whistle gauge that I had mounted on my oil tank today.  I then googled the price of just an oil tank whistle without the gauge, and found an advertised price of $18.

As a Certified Public Accountant, when I quote a price, and I assure my client that it will not exceed a certain amount, I live by that price.  My word is my reputation; it is the cheapest form of advertising of which I am aware.  My word, and my reputation, are worth more than $13, or $77.88.

The Barefoot Accountant

About Connecticut Politics

William Brighenti is a Certified Public Accountant and Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisor, who operates a public accounting firm, Accountants CPA Hartford, Connecticut, LLC. Bill began his career in public accounting over thirty years ago. He provides a variety of accounting, tax, and QuickBooks consulting services to individuals and business across a wide spectrum of industries. Bill writes an accounting, tax, and QuickBooks blog under the penname, "The Barefoot Accountant". William Brighenti created the blog, Connecticut Politics, because of the need for a voice to cry out loud--Vox Clamantis--explaining the reasons for the terrible state of the economy in the United States as well as urging change and reform before the United States becomes a third world country.
This entry was posted in Connecticut Politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Caveat emptor: beware of contractors who do not honor their quotations

  1. Stanley says:

    Stay away told me he could fix a condensation problem and cash would be cheaper made problem worse and never came back taking to court as we speak

  2. Will Delito says:

    This company is the worst. I asked for proof of insurance and got the run around until job completed. Asked for tax ID, Never got it. Turned him over to the State consumer protection. Maybe they will put him out of business due to shady practices. DON’T HIRE THEM.

Leave a comment